What’s The Point?

I’ve been contemplating my kindness-first approach to life lately…if I’m going about it the wrong way.

“Maybe I should ensure that I’m not being taken advantage of…or do my best to avoid being hurt?”

But…isn’t that exactly what affects the ability to exercise kindness?

I was doing loops in my head, thinking “What’s the point of being kind?“, until I saw this picture of myself.

I’m standing in the middle of somewhere with these ripples originating from me. I’m not doing much, yet they go far out enough to touch, even if unnoticeably, the people in the distance.

Now imagine another person standing close to me here, making their own ripples, but angry ones that break into mine. It’s not long before their all-encompassing angry ripples seem to become my own…

Isn’t that precisely how we interact with each other in this world? We send out ripples based on how we respond to situations, every day of our lives. They affect anybody we come in contact with, regardless of whether they’re a part of it.

I believe that calls for some responsibility from us as individuals – to be aware of what we’re sending out there. Are we sending out acceptance for each other in ripples that overlap and coexist, or are we breaking down others’?

For me…That’s the point.

I am the point…You are the point from which it all originates.
Stay Aware. Stay Kind.

 

Yours Rawly,

PS: I think the personal responsibility also extends to respectfully stepping out of another’s ripples if they’re getting in the way of our’s. #BeKindToYourselfToo #WeAllHaveAngryRippleDays

 

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑